Serie A Set Piece Takers

Italy were well deserved winners of Euro 2020 but now our footballing attention must shift back towards their tactical domestic league.

This is why this article shall focus on revealing each club’s assigned set piece takers, from the order of penalties all the way to corners.

Let’s take a look at which players have this important responsibility in the table below…


Serie A competition set piece takers list

ClubPenalties (Main)Penalties (Alternate)Free Kicks (Main)Free Kicks (Alternate 1)Free Kicks (Alternate 2)Corners (Main)Corners (Alternate 1)Corners (Alternate 2)
JuventusDušan VlahovićLeonardo BonucciAngel Di MariaJuan CuadradoFederico ChiesaAngel Di MariaJuan CuadradoFederico Chiesa
Inter MilanLautaro MartinezHakan ÇalhanoğluHakan ÇalhanoğluMarcelo BrozovićNicolò BarellaHakan ÇalhanoğluNicolò Barella-
TorinoSaša LukićTBCSaša Lukić-Saša LukićSaša Lukić--
NapoliVictor OsimhenTBCFabián RuizPiotr Zielinski-Fabián RuizPiotr Zielinski-
AC MilanOlivier GiroudTheo HernandezSandro TonaliRafael LeãoTheo HernándezSandro Tonali--
AS RomaTammy AbrahamLorenzo PellegriniLorenzo PellegriniPaulo DybalaNicolò ZanioloLorenzo PellegriniPaulo DybalaNicolò Zaniolo
Hellas VeronaAntonín BarákGiovanni SimeoneMiguel VelosoLazovic-Miguel Veloso--
LazioCiro ImmobileSergej Milinković-SavićLuis AlbertoSergej Milinković-SavićPedroLuis AlbertoPedroMattia Zaccagni
FiorentinaNicolás GonzálezCristiano BiraghiNicolás González--Nicolás González--
SassuoloDomenico BerardiTBCDomenico BerardiJunior Traore-Domenico BerardiJunior Traore-
AtalantaDuván ZapataLuis MurielJosip IličićRuslan Malinovskiy-Josip IličićRuslan Malinovskiy-
BolognaMarko ArnautovićRiccardo OrsoliniRiccardo OrsoliniNicola Sansone-Riccardo OrsoliniNicola Sansone-
MonzaMattia ValotiChristian GytkjærTBCGianluca Caprari-TBCGianluca Caprari-
UdineseRoberto PereyraGerard DeulofeuRoberto PereyraGerard Deulofeu-Roberto PereyraGerard Deulofeu-
SpeziaDaniele VerdeM'Bala NzolaTBCDaniele Verde-TBCDaniele Verde-
SampdoriaAntonio CandrevaFabio QuagliarellaManolo GabbiadiniAntonio Candreva-Manolo GabbiadiniAntonio Candreva-
CremoneseDaniel CiofaniSamuel Di CarmineTBC--TBC--
SalernitanaFederico BonazzoliFranck RibéryFranck Ribéry--Franck Ribéry--
EmpoliNedim BajramiTBCTBC--TBC--


Set piece takers from Serie A’s newly promoted teams

Three sides made the jump to Italy’s top division, with Cagliari, Genoa and Venezia all relegated accordingly.

So, let’s see what the promoted sides intend to offer this season



At the moment, we have no idea who will be on penalty taking duty for newly promoted side Lecce.

Their spot kick taker in Serie B – Massimo Coda – now plays for Genoa who were relegated in the previous season.

He scored six times out of 8 attempts from the penalty spot for them, so it remains to be seen who will assume this responsibility.



This club had a total of 8 penalties in Serie B, with duties mainly shared between Mattia Valoti and Danish player Christian Gytkjær.

Interestingly enough, both of them netted all their penalties, and the remaining one which was taken by Luca Mazzitelli was also slotted away.

I therefore expect this role to be shared between Valoti and the Dane.



This team was comfortably promoted to Serie A even though they never spent a single week holding first spot in the Serie B table, at any point last season.

Naturally, you’d expect them to struggle to make the step up in a tougher division.

Their penalty taker is set to be none other than Daniel Ciofani – who scored two out of three from the spot in the previous campaign (i.e. 66.7% conversion rate).

And Samuel Di Carmine should deputize in the absence of Ciofani.


Which team scored the most set piece goals in the 2021-22 Serie A?

Udinese and Roma led the charts here with both getting 17 set piece goals.

It’s quite surprising to see Udinese at the top of this list because they lost their best dead ball specialist – Rodrigo De Paul – who transferred to Atletico Madrid for 35 million euros.

Following behind these two teams were Inter Milan and Napoli, with 16 goals a piece here.

When it came to penalties, Napoli came top of the pile with 10 conversions, with Fiorentina right behind them with 9 successful penalties taken.

Related articles: Dedicated free kick and corner takers for Premier League clubs; set piece takers for international teams at the FIFA 2022 World Cup in Qatar

Share on:
About Samuel Waihenya

Samuel Waihenya is 25 years of age and has been watching, discussing, as well as playing soccer for well over 10 years. With a solid educational background in business management, the Soccer Whizz website is his first foray into the digital web space and it has been created with the intention of providing the absolute best soccer content for its readership.