Bundesliga Golden Boot Winners (1963 – 2022)

Germany’s top soccer division has been a hub for some of the finest sporting talent to ever grace the game.

Over the years, the league has developed a reputation for being one of the best competitions for young players to hone and finetune their ability, and rightly so.

From the current generation you have the likes of Jadon Sancho, Jude Bellingham, Erling Haaland and Florian Wirtz making waves for Borussia Dortmund and Bayer Leverkusen respectively.

And then when you look even further back, you’ll remember how good players like Mesut Özil and Kevin De Bruyne were when they each represented Schalke 04 and VfL Wolfsburg.

More so, the Bundesliga is a great league to participate in because of how entertaining the matches are.

High scoring Bundesliga games are typically commonplace, especially when it comes to the Bavarian giants Bayern Munich who dominate most of their fixtures.

With the goals galore spread throughout the division, it would be interesting to see which players have managed to top the goal scoring charts for each season that the league has been in existence.

And that’s exactly where this article comes in handy, as it provides a tabulated breakdown of the Bundesliga’s Golden Boot winners right from the league’s inception in 1962 and commencement the following year.

Take a look below:

SeasonPlayerTeam(s)Goals Scored
1963/1964Uwe SeelerHamburger SV30
1964/1965Rudolf BrunnenmeierTSV 1860 München24
1965/1966Lothar EmmerichBorussia Dortmund31
1966/1967Lothar EmmerichBorussia Dortmund28
1966/1967Gerd MüllerBayern München28
1967/1968Hannes Löhr1. FC Köln27
1968/1969Gerd MüllerBayern München30
1969/1970Gerd MüllerBayern München38
1970/1971Lothar KobluhnRot-Weiß Oberhausen24
1971/1972Gerd MüllerBayern München40
1972/1973Gerd MüllerBayern München36
1973/1974Gerd MüllerBayern München30
1973/1974Jupp HeynckesBorussia Mönchengladbach30
1974/1975Jupp HeynckesBorussia Mönchengladbach27
1975/1976Klaus FischerFC Schalke 0429
1976/1977Dieter Müller1. FC Köln34
1977/1978Dieter Müller1. FC Köln24
1977/1978Gerd MüllerBayern München24
1978/1979Klaus AllofsFortuna Düsseldorf22
1979/1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern München26
1980/1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern München29
1981/1982Horst HrubeschHamburger SV27
1982/1983Rudi VöllerWerder Bremen23
1983/1984Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern München26
1984/1985Klaus Allofs1. FC Köln26
1985/1986Stefan KuntzVfL Bochum22
1986/1987Uwe RahnBorussia Mönchengladbach24
1987/1988Jürgen KlinsmannVfB Stuttgart19
1988/1989Roland WohlfahrtBayern München17
1988/1989Thomas Allofs1. FC Köln17
1989/1990Jörn AndersenEintracht Frankfurt18
1990/1991Roland WohlfahrtBayern München21
1991/1992Fritz WalterVfB Stuttgart22
1992/1993Anthony YeboahEintracht Frankfurt20
1992/1993Ulf KirstenBayer Leverkusen20
1993/1994Anthony YeboahEintracht Frankfurt18
1993/1994Stefan Kuntz1. FC Kaiserslautern18
1994/1995Mario BaslerWerder Bremen20
1994/1995Heiko HerrlichBorussia Mönchengladbach20
1995/1996Fredi BobicVfB Stuttgart17
1996/1997Ulf KirstenBayer Leverkusen22
1997/1998Ulf KirstenBayer Leverkusen22
1998/1999Michael PreetzHertha BSC23
1999/2000Martin MaxTSV 1860 München19
2000/2001Ebbe SandFC Schalke 0422
2000/2001Sergej BarbarezHamburger SV22
2001/2002AmorosoBorussia Dortmund18
2001/2002Martin MaxTSV 1860 München18
2002/2003ÉlberBayern München21
2002/2003Thomas ChristiansenVfL Bochum21
2003/2004AiltonWerder Bremen28
2004/2005Marek Mintal1. FC Nürnberg24
2005/2006Miroslav KloseWerder Bremen25
2006/2007Fanis GekasVfL Bochum20
2007/2008Luca ToniBayern München24
2008/2009GrafiteVfL Wolfsburg28
2009/2010Edin DžekoVfL Wolfsburg22
2010/2011Mario GomezBayern München28
2011/2012Klaas-Jan HuntelaarFC Schalke 0429
2012/2013Stefan KießlingBayer Leverkusen25
2013/2014Robert LewandowskiBorussia Dortmund20
2014/2015Alexander MeierEintracht Frankfurt19
2015/2016Robert LewandowskiBayern München30
2016/2017Pierre-Emerick AubameyangBorussia Dortmund31
2017/2018Robert LewandowskiBayern München29
2018/2019Robert LewandowskiBayern München22
2019/2020Robert LewandowskiBayern München34
2020/2021Robert LewandowskiBayern München41
2021/2022Robert LewandowskiBayern München35


Which player has won the most Bundesliga Golden Boot awards?

Naturally, you’d want to know who has managed to be the most consistent goal scorer throughout the competition’s illustrious history.

So let’s cut right to the chase here.

The Bayern Munich and Germany legend Gerd Müller has racked up the most Bundesliga Golden Boot trophies, as he boasts an impressive tally of seven awards.

7 time bundesliga golden boot winner - Gerd Müller

Müller is seen as the best player to ever grace this league due to his immense goal scoring talent and actual contribution.

He also previously held a 49-year old record for most Bundesliga goals scored in a single season with 40 goals, although his tally was recently eclipsed by Robert Lewandowski.

Update: Robert Lewandowski also tied Müller’s record for having the most Bundesliga golden boot awards, notching 35 goals in the just concluded 2021/2022 campaign.


Who won the 2021 Golden Boot in the Bundesliga?

If you’ve been following the Bundesliga for some time, the answer here is as you’d expect.

Robert Lewandowski won the 2021 Bundesliga Golden Boot award, amassing a record-breaking tally of 41 goals in the entire campaign.

6 time bundesliga golden boot winner - robert lewandowski

In fact, here’s a short clip that shows the Poland international grabbing the final goal of his season that saw him break Gerd Müller’s long-standing 40-goal season record.

You can clearly see from the footage that this goal meant so much to him and his teammates!


How many times has Lewandowski won the Bundesliga golden boot?

Lewandowski has been a phenomenon in this division ever since he joined Borussia Dortmund in 2010 from the Polish side Lech Poznań.

In fact, Lewandowski’s performances have been so stellar that he’s won the Bundesliga Golden Boot Award a total of seven times.

He recently equalled Gerd Müller’s record tally of seven Golden Boots because he sits comfortably atop the goal scorer standings this season.

You can have a look at the table below to see which players follow after Gerd Müller and Robert Lewandowski when it comes to Golden Boot awards:

PlayerGolden Boot AwardsClub(s)
Gerd Müller7Bayern München
Robert Lewandoswki7Borussia Dortmund; Bayern München
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge3Bayern München
Ulf Kirsten3Bayer Leverkusen
Lothar Emmerich2Borussia Dortmund
Jupp Heynckes2Borussia Mönchengladbach
Dieter Müller21. FC Köln
Klaus Allofs2Fortuna Düsseldorf; 1. FC Köln
Stefan Kuntz2VfL Bochum; 1. FC Kaiserslautern
Roland Wohlfahrt2Bayern München
Anthony Yeboah2Eintracht Frankfurt
Martin Max2TSV 1860 München


Closing thoughts

That brings us to the end of this post on Bundesliga Golden Boot winners.

You’ll have seen each year’s winner as the article has given information on who won the award since 1963, as well as what team each top goal scorer played for and how many they managed to net.

If you’ve enjoyed the read, you should check out the Spanish league’s highest goal scorers too! 

Samuel Waihenya
Share on: