UEFA Europa League Golden Boot Winners (1971 – 2022)

The UEFA Europa League becomes more and more popular as seasons fly by.

One of the reasons for the competition becoming more in vogue is the fact that some of the historic giants of the soccer world are currently underperforming within their domestic leagues.

Look at Manchester United, for example.

Ever since their last league title win in 2013, the club has finished in the top four Premier League places only four times.

That’s four out of eight seasons where they’ve not guaranteed automatic qualification to Europe’s best soccer tournament – the UEFA Champions League.

And because fallen giants like Manchester United bring in such large viewership figures regardless of how they perform, the appeal of the UEFA Europa League has grown quite considerably.

Anyway, this article hasn’t been written to enjoy the anguish of Manchester United fans who now see their team regularly playing in Europe’s so-called “second tier” competition.


Instead, it seeks to reveal the UEFA Europa League’s top goal scorers season by season.

Here, have a look at the table below which breaks this down by year:

SeasonPlayerTeam(s)Goals Scored
1971/1972Ludwig BründlEintracht Braunschweig10
1972/1973Jupp HeynckesBorussia Mönchengladbach12
1972/1973Jan JeuringFC Twente12
1973/1974Lex SchoenmakerFeyenoord11
1974/1975Jupp HeynckesBorussia Mönchengladbach10
1975/1976Ruud GeelsAjax14
1976/1977Stan BowlesQueens Park Rangers11
1977/1978Gerrie DeijkersPSV Eindhoven8
1977/1978Raimondo PonteGrasshopper8
1978/1979Allan SimonsenBorussia Mönchengladbach9
1978/1979Dieter HoeneßBayern München7
1979/1980Harald NickelBorussia Mönchengladbach7
1980/1981John WarkIpswich Town14
1981/1982Torbjörn NilssonIFK Göteborg9
1982/1983Zoran FilipovićS.L. Benfica8
1983/1984Tibor NyilasiAustria Wien9
1984/1985Edin BahtićFK Željezničar Sarajevo7
1984/1985Gary BannisterQueens Park Rangers7
1985/1986Klaus Allofs1. FC Köln9
1986/1987Paulinho CascavelVitória de Guimarães5
1986/1987Peter HoutmanFC Groningen5
1986/1987Wim KieftTorino5
1986/1987Jari RantanenIFK Göteborg5
1987/1988Kenneth Brylle LarsenClub Brugge6
1987/1988Dimitris SaravakosPanathinaikos F.C.6
1988/1989Torsten GütschowDynamo Dresden7
1989/1990Falko Götz1. FC Köln6
1989/1990Karl-Heinz RiedleWerder Bremen6
1990/1991Rudi VöllerAS Roma10
1991/1992Dean SaundersLiverpool9
1992/1993Gérald BaticleAuxerre8
1993/1994Dennis BergkampInter Milan8
1993/1994Edgar SchmittKarlsruher SC8
1994/1995Ulf KirstenBayer Leverkusen10
1995/1996Jürgen KlinsmannBayern München15
1996/1997Maurizio GanzInter Milan8
1997/1998Stéphane Guivarc'hAuxerre7
1998/1999Enrico ChiesaParma8
1998/1999Darko KovačevićReal Sociedad8
1998/1999Tomasz KulawikWisła Kraków8
1999/2000Darko KovačevićJuventus10
2000/2001Dimitar BerbatovCSKA Sofia7
2000/2001BoloRayo Vallecano7
2001/2002Pierre van HooijdonkFeyenoord8
2002/2003DerleiFC Porto12
2003/2004Sonny AndersonVillareal CF6
2004/2005Alan ShearerNewcastle United11
2005/2006Matías Emilio DelgadoFC Basel9
2006/2007Walter PandianiRCD Espanyol11
2007/2008Pavel PogrebnyakZenit Saint Petersburg10
2007/2008Luca ToniBayern München10
2008/2009Vágner LoveCSKA Moscow11
2009/2010Óscar CardozoS.L. Benfica9
2009/2010Claudio PizarroWerder Bremen9
2010/2011Radamel FalcaoFC Porto17
2011/2012Radamel FalcaoAtletico Madrid12
2012/2013Libor KozákLazio8
2013/2014Jonathan SorianoRed Bull Salzburg8
2014/2015Romelu LukakuEverton8
2014/2015AlanRed Bull Salzburg8
2015/2016Aritz AdurizAthletic Bilbao10
2016/2017Edin DžekoAS Roma8
2016/2017GiulianoZenit Saint Petersburg8
2017/2018Aritz AdurizAthletic Bilbao8
2017/2018Ciro ImmobileLazio8
2018/2019Olivier GiroudChelsea11
2019/2020Bruno FernandesSporting CP; Manchester United8
2020/2021Borja MayoralAS Roma7
2020/2021Gerard MorenoVillareal CF7
2020/2021PizziS.L. Benfica7
2020/2021Yusuf YazıcıLOSC Lille7
2021/2022James TavernierRangers7

You’ll notice that the list goes as far back as 1971, and that’s because the data for the Europa League and the previous version of this tournament – the UEFA Cup – have been combined together.

So, when the numbers for the Europa League stop at the 2009/2010 campaign with Óscar Cardozo and Claudio Pizzaro’s nine goals, the table simply carries on with the added information from past seasons of the UEFA Cup.


Which player has won the most Europa League Boot awards?

This question has an answer that you wouldn’t typically expect.

And that’s because there are four players who share the title for most Europa League Golden Boot awards. Jupp Heynckes, Radamel Falcao, Darko Kovačević and Aritz Aduriz each have two top scorer trophies for this competition.

2 time uefa europa league golden boot winner - aritz aduriz

Here’s a table that provides an even better visualization of that information:

PlayerGolden Boot AwardsClub(s)
Radamel Falcao2FC Porto; Atletico Madrid
Jupp Heynckes2Borussia Mönchengladbach
Aritz Aduriz2Athletic Bilbao
Darko Kovačević2Real Sociedad; Juventus


Who is the Europa League top scorer for the 2021/2022 season?

At the time of writing, there’s a really close fought battle for the 2021/2022 Europa League top scorer award.

Update: In the end, Ranger’s James Tavernier won the Europa League top scorer award as he managed seven goals over the course of this past season.

Even though he was previously tied on goals with Olympique Lyon’s Karl Toko Ekambi, the Cameroonian’s club was already eliminated from this season’s competition which allowed him to claim the award.


Who is the highest goal scorer in UEFA Europa League history?

Naturally, you’d want to know which player leads the all-time goal scoring charts for this competition.

Well, here’s the answer…

Radamel Falcao and Klaas-Jan Huntelaar are the highest goal scorers in Europa League history, having each accumulated 30 goals in this tournament over the course of their professional careers.

2 time uefa europa league golden boot winner - radamel falcao

However, Falcao slightly edges out Huntelaar due to the fact that he accomplished this feat in fewer games than the Dutchman.

If you’ve been following soccer for some time, you’ll already know that Columbia’s Falcao was a very prolific forward in his prime, and Huntelaar had some of the best finishing skill that a talented striker could wish to have.


Closing thoughts

The Europa League is gradually growing to become a competition that sports fans like to watch, especially with popular teams like Barcelona, Napoli, Lazio and West Ham involved in this season’s edition.

You can take a look at the German league’s top goal scorers from 1963 if you fancy a read of that as well.

Samuel Waihenya
Share on: