Premier League Golden Boot Winners (1992 – 2022)

To score a considerable amount of goals within a Premier League campaign is a big achievement for professional soccer players.

Ever since the top-tier soccer league in England was rebranded in 1992 and underwent a team reduction in 1995, it’s become increasingly more difficult to rack up larger goal tallies over a single campaign.

Clubs now have fitter players, and more emphasis is placed on tactics and team strategy than ever before.

Which is why it’s such a special moment for a player to be awarded with the golden boot trophy at the end of the season.

This article will now detail the winners of the Premier League Golden Boot award since 1992.

Have a look at the table below:

SeasonPlayerTeam(s)Goals Scored
1992/1993Teddy SheringhamNottingham Forest; Tottenham Hotspur22
1993/1994Andrew ColeNewcastle United34
1994/1995Alan ShearerBlackburn Rovers34
1995/1996Alan ShearerBlackburn Rovers31
1996/1997Alan ShearerNewcastle United25
1997/1998Dion DublinCoventry City18
1997/1998Michael OwenLiverpool18
1997/1998Chris SuttonBlackburn Rovers18
1998/1999Michael OwenLiverpool18
1998/1999Dwight YorkeManchester United18
1998/1999Jimmy Floyd HasselbainkLeeds United18
1999/2000Kevin PhillipsSunderland30
2000/2001Jimmy Floyd HasselbainkChelsea23
2001/2002Thierry HenryArsenal24
2002/2003Ruud van NistelrooyManchester United25
2003/2004Thierry HenryArsenal30
2004/2005Thierry HenryArsenal25
2005/2006Thierry HenryArsenal27
2006/2007Didier DrogbaChelsea20
2007/2008Cristiano RonaldoManchester United31
2008/2009Nicolas AnelkaChelsea19
2009/2010Didier DrogbaChelsea29
2010/2011Carlos TevezManchester City20
2010/2011Dimitar BerbatovManchester United20
2011/2012Robin van PersieArsenal30
2012/2013Robin van PersieManchester United26
2013/2014Luis SuarezLiverpool31
2014/2015Sergio AgueroManchester City26
2015/2016Harry KaneTottenham Hotspur25
2016/2017Harry KaneTottenham Hotspur29
2017/2018Mohamed SalahLiverpool32
2018/2019Mohamed SalahLiverpool22
2018/2019Sadio ManeLiverpool22
2018/2019Pierre-Emerick AubameyangArsenal22
2019/2020Jamie VardyLeicester City23
2020/2021Harry KaneTottenham Hotspur23
2021/2022Son Heung-MinTottenham Hotspur23
2021/2022Mohamed SalahLiverpool23


Who has won the most Golden Boots in EPL history?

You’d obviously be curious to know which player has won the most of these, right?

Well, here’s the answer.

Thierry Henry has won the most Golden Boot awards in Premier League history, as he’s managed to pick up four of these trophies during his time at Arsenal.

Here’s how the numbers stack up for other players who have graced one of soccer’s greatest ever leagues:

PlayerGolden Boot AwardsClub(s)
Thierry Henry4Arsenal
Alan Shearer3Blackburn Rovers; Newcastle United
Mohamed Salah3Liverpool
Michael Owen2Liverpool
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink2Leeds United; Chelsea
Didier Drogba2Chelsea
Son Heung-Min1Tottenham Hotspur
Robin van Persie2Arsenal; Manchester United
Teddy Sheringham1Nottingham Forest; Tottenham Hotspur
Andrew Cole1Newcastle United
Dion Dublin1Coventry City
Chris Sutton1Blackburn Rovers
Dwight Yorke1Manchester United
Kevin Phillips1Sunderland
Ruud van Nistelrooy1Manchester United
Cristiano Ronaldo1Manchester United
Dimitar Berbatov1Manchester United
Nicolas Anelka1Chelsea
Carlos Tevez1Manchester City
Luis Suarez1Liverpool
Sergio Aguero1Manchester City
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang1Arsenal
Sadio Mane1Liverpool
Jamie Vardy1Leicester City


How many Golden Boot awards has Harry Kane won?

The Tottenham Hotspur forward has always been gunning to become the Premier League’s all-time record goalscorer.

Harry Kane is now only behind Alan Shearer when it comes to overall goals scored in the Premier League, and he’ll continuously strive to break that barrier within the next couple of years.

Currently, he holds the Golden Boot crown for the previously completed 2020-2021 Premier League campaign, as he became only the third player to win this award for the third time.

premier league golden boot winner - harry kane 2020 season

So, there you have it!

Harry Kane has a total of three Golden Boot awards to his name.


How many Golden Boots does Mohamed Salah have?

The Egyptian has certainly taken the Premier League by storm ever since his arrival at Liverpool in 2017.

Salah claimed his first Golden Boot trophy in the 2017-2018 season, netting an astonishing total of 32 goals which shattered the record for most goals scored across a 38-game league campaign.

premier league golden boot winner - mohamed salah 2017 and 2018 seasons

In the following season, his numbers were slightly less impressive.

There was a three-way tie between himself, his Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane and the Arsenal forward Pierre Emerick Aubameyang, as all of them scored 22 goals.

And in the 2021/2022 season, he tied level on most goals (23 scored) with Tottenham Hotspur’s Son Heung-Min.

Therefore, Mohamed Salah has won the Golden Boot a total of three times.


How many Golden Boots does Alan Shearer have?

Quite surprisingly, Alan Shearer hasn’t won the most Golden Boot awards in Premier League history even though he’s the all-time record goal scorer for this division!

However, Shearer has three Golden Boot awards to his name, having picked each one up during his stints at Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United respectively, between the 1994-1995 season and the 1996–1997 one.


Did Michael Owen win the Golden Boot?

Yes, he did!

The Liverpool man was arguably in his prime years early on in his career, as back then he certainly had the speed to ghost past defenders with ease.

Owen picked up a Golden Boot in the 1997-1998 campaign and followed that up with another in the 1998-1999 season.


Who is leading the golden boot standings in the 2021 Premier League season?

At the moment, we’re looking at a closely fought race between Cristiano Ronaldo, Sadio Mane and Harry Kane.

As of the 21st of April, the Manchester United forward has 15 goals, and he’s followed by the latter two who are both tied on tallies of 12 each.

It’ll certainly be interesting to see which player finally claims the award, as the season only has a couple of games left to spare.

Update: Liverpool’s Salah and Tottenham’s Son Heung-Min – both of who weren’t initially seen as front runners for this award – managed to claim it with 23 goals each.


Closing thoughts

This marks the end of the post on Golden Boot winners.

Hopefully you’ll have found it very informative and inspiring, especially for those of you who are looking to become a professional in the near future.

Samuel Waihenya
Share on: